Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

[RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

HENkaku is a native Homebrew Enabler for the PS Vita and PS TV. It lets you run homebrews on the PS Vita
Purplstuph
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:48 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Purplstuph » Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:18 pm

I got a problem where it crashes when choosing something from the mod menu. But that's not a big problem because of the custom args load.
The big problem is that the port sees my game as shareware when it's the full version.
Advertising

tr0ut
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:45 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by tr0ut » Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:50 am

After updating to vitaQuake 4.0, the app simply refuses to load id1 (files taken from my GOG copy).
When I try to launch it, it instantly closes down and in ux0:data/Quake I get a log.txt that says "W_LoadWadFile: couldn't load gfx.wad"
It used to work before I updated to 4.0.
Image
This is how id1 looks like. Is there any fix for it?
Advertising

Al Capwn
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:43 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Al Capwn » Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:55 pm

Thank you very much for the continued improvement of Quake and other games. The issue I'm running into is I keep getting a GPU Driver crash, and also my performance is kind of on the low side, with many dips into the 30s; is it just me? Changing MSAA or SSAA doesn't seem to have any effect.

Purplstuph
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:48 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Purplstuph » Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:24 pm

Quake sometimes gets an error r_drawsprite: no such frame.
If there's too much, it crashes the ps vita.
That's also probably because i had to mix my pak1 with pak0 in order to make the port recognize my game as full version.
It's very annoying when that happens. Downgrading to a lower version until fixed.

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 881
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:34 pm

tr0ut wrote:
Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:50 am
After updating to vitaQuake 4.0, the app simply refuses to load id1 (files taken from my GOG copy).
When I try to launch it, it instantly closes down and in ux0:data/Quake I get a log.txt that says "W_LoadWadFile: couldn't load gfx.wad"
It used to work before I updated to 4.0.
Image
This is how id1 looks like. Is there any fix for it?
Steam data files work fine, on vitaQuake GitHub i uploaded my gfx.wad file just in case.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 881
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:35 pm

Purplstuph wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:24 pm
Quake sometimes gets an error r_drawsprite: no such frame.
If there's too much, it crashes the ps vita.
That's also probably because i had to mix my pak1 with pak0 in order to make the port recognize my game as full version.
It's very annoying when that happens. Downgrading to a lower version until fixed.
You shouldn't get that error if you disable the smooth animations option in Options menu.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 881
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:36 pm

Al Capwn wrote:
Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:55 pm
Thank you very much for the continued improvement of Quake and other games. The issue I'm running into is I keep getting a GPU Driver crash, and also my performance is kind of on the low side, with many dips into the 30s; is it just me? Changing MSAA or SSAA doesn't seem to have any effect.
In what circumstances you experience the GPUCRASH? As for the framerate, it depends on the map and situation. You can stick to MSAA only to improve framerate and, if not enough, lower resolution.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

Al Capwn
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:43 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Al Capwn » Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:56 pm

Rinnegatamante wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:36 pm
Al Capwn wrote:
Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:55 pm
Thank you very much for the continued improvement of Quake and other games. The issue I'm running into is I keep getting a GPU Driver crash, and also my performance is kind of on the low side, with many dips into the 30s; is it just me? Changing MSAA or SSAA doesn't seem to have any effect.
In what circumstances you experience the GPUCRASH? As for the framerate, it depends on the map and situation. You can stick to MSAA only to improve framerate and, if not enough, lower resolution.
I'm not sure how to download previous versions to compare, but before I was getting a solid 60fps just about everywhere. The first noticeable slowdown is on the very first section before you choose difficulty, looking at the flame to the left or right seems to drop the fps significantly now. The first GPUDriver crash I got was on The Vaults of Zin when you get the grenade launcher and when I fired at the first zombie I got a GPUDriver crash. The 2nd GPUDriver crash I got was on Termination Central when firing at one of the explosive 'cubes' with the shotgun.

I'm going to fully wipe my install and re-install just incase it's something odd with upgrading over previous versions.

Al Capwn
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:43 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Al Capwn » Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:54 pm

It appears that doing a full wipe may have solved my GPUDRIVER crashing, although I do still experience a lot of slowdowns as compared to previous versions. I wouldn't be surprised if this is because before it wasn't rendering certain things properly so it would technically be 'faster'. I haven't noticed any artifacting with this new version which is great.

Edit: I'm still getting GPUDRIVER crashing. This time it was in the Tomb of Terror with the hallway in the near beginning with the zombies, I launched a grenade and got the crash. It may be related to the fact I've noticed when you blow up enemies, there is a black 'artifact' like gib that pops out.
Last edited by Al Capwn on Mon Sep 23, 2019 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Purplstuph
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:48 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Purplstuph » Mon Sep 23, 2019 8:18 pm

Rinnegatamante wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:35 pm
Purplstuph wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:24 pm
Quake sometimes gets an error r_drawsprite: no such frame.
If there's too much, it crashes the ps vita.
That's also probably because i had to mix my pak1 with pak0 in order to make the port recognize my game as full version.
It's very annoying when that happens. Downgrading to a lower version until fixed.
You shouldn't get that error if you disable the smooth animations option in Options menu.
I disabled smooth animations and I'm still getting the r_drawsprite thing along with a crash. Seems to be caused mostly by explosions and under liquids.

Post Reply

Return to “HENkaku”