Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

[RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

HENkaku is a native Homebrew Enabler for the PS Vita and PS TV. It lets you run homebrews on the PS Vita
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 912
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante »

Al Capwn wrote: Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:51 am
khaaaannnn wrote: Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:56 am
Al Capwn wrote: Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:55 pm Thank you very much for the continued improvement of Quake and other games. The issue I'm running into is I keep getting a GPU Driver crash, and also my performance is kind of on the low side, with many dips into the 30s; is it just me? Changing MSAA or SSAA doesn't seem to have any effect.
ok so after looking through everything we're at the exact same part with the exact same issue it seems, The difference is I'm not using retroarch. what version are you on and what vita do you have?
I'm also not using retroarch. I'm running VitaQuake 4.0 w/ Quake V1.09 as supplied by GoG; I originally was using my CD Version manually patched, decided to try the GoG version but same results. Vita is PCH-1001 fw3.65 Enso w/ 128gb SD2Vita running YAMT 3.1.
For the crash, check if what khaaaannnn reported solves the issue. For the performance dips, do these happen after playing with the homebrew for a set amount of time or do you have those issues straight from launching the homebrew?
Advertising
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 912
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante »

vitaQuake v.4.1 available to download!

Changelog:
- Massive performances improvements thanks to vitaGL fixes.
- Added compressed textures support (Normally disabled, can be enabled by editing gl_compress cvar) for massive textures pack and mods.
- Re-enabled by default texture cache.
- Added a launch arg to disable texture cache (Useful for some HL BSPs that show wrong textures with it enabled): -no_tex_cache.
- Added Anaglyph 3D support (Red-cyan only).
- Disabled FPU exception traps (Reeduces game crashes occurrences).
- Fix for console input not properly showing sometimes.
- Current console input is no longer discarded when calling Vita keyboard to insert a new command.
- Made .pak detection case insensitive.
- Added lightmaps overbright support.

Credits:
Thanks to all my patroners:
- Tain Sueiras
- drd7of14
- polytoad
- The Vita3k project
- Al Capwn
- Creckeryop
- Wiese
- The Libretro Team
- Mark Vdovychenko
- Mored4u
- Igor Kovacs Biscaia
- rsn8887
- Count Duckula
- Andyways
- Daniel Krusenbaum
- Elwood Blues
- Justin
- spriteice
- gnmmarechal
- Thomas Radeck
- Neil MacAlasdair
- Thomas Würgler
- GregoryRasputin
- styroteqe
- Des
- suLac4ever
- BOBdotEXE
- Daniel
- Lars Zondervan
- Pirloui
- PSX-Place.com
- 2Mourty
- Dieter B

Download:
https://vitadb.rinnegatamante.it/#/info/10
Advertising
Last edited by Rinnegatamante on Mon Apr 27, 2020 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D
SeongGino
Posts: 293
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:59 pm
Location: Jersey, Jersey; US of A.
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by SeongGino »

Hi! It's great work that you've done here, and I'm glad to see that menu scaling has been added.
Would it be possible to add a default (zoomed-in) HUD scale as well? It's rather small out of the box.
Would it also be possible to add the menu scaling to Hexen II? I know that port's already been updated with latest vitaGL fixes, but if there are further improvements there, it would be nice to be able to see all the ports' menu interfaces without having to squint.
I'm just your average Seong. Move along, nothing to see here...
riblad_om
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:30 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by riblad_om »

I installed this, opened it and messed around with the filter settings marveled at the fps I was getting. Closed, reopened it and now all I see is colors and no game. The game is playing, I can hear the demo but can't see anything. I'm using the colored lighting packs if that might be part of the problem.

edit: fixed this by editing the antialiasing cfg file and setting from 8 to 0.
Al Capwn
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:43 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Al Capwn »

Rinnegatamante wrote: Tue Mar 17, 2020 10:42 pm
Al Capwn wrote: Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:51 am
khaaaannnn wrote: Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:56 am

ok so after looking through everything we're at the exact same part with the exact same issue it seems, The difference is I'm not using retroarch. what version are you on and what vita do you have?
I'm also not using retroarch. I'm running VitaQuake 4.0 w/ Quake V1.09 as supplied by GoG; I originally was using my CD Version manually patched, decided to try the GoG version but same results. Vita is PCH-1001 fw3.65 Enso w/ 128gb SD2Vita running YAMT 3.1.
For the crash, check if what khaaaannnn reported solves the issue. For the performance dips, do these happen after playing with the homebrew for a set amount of time or do you have those issues straight from launching the homebrew?
Thank you again for a seriously awesome update. I get excellent performance across the board now, previously I had issues straight away after launching; depending on the map. I haven't tried playing without the soundtrack as a possible fix for the GPUDriver crash, but so far I haven't run into it (that doesn't mean I won't, as before sometimes it didn't happen for days while other times would happen within a minute of playing).

Is there any possibility to be able to use the latest VitaGL to improve other ports such as Xash3D, or does it require much more work than just building Xash3D myself with the latest VitaGL?
Rabisco
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 2:35 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rabisco »

humm
kingcrimson1920
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:07 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by kingcrimson1920 »

thanks for new version. please Rinnegatamante new version of Wolfenstein - with sniper shot.
and i still believe in Clive's barkers undying port or Call of Cthulhu.

and did you see port of Stalker on psp?
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 912
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante »

SeongGino wrote: Tue Mar 31, 2020 3:48 pm Hi! It's great work that you've done here, and I'm glad to see that menu scaling has been added.
Would it be possible to add a default (zoomed-in) HUD scale as well? It's rather small out of the box.
Would it also be possible to add the menu scaling to Hexen II? I know that port's already been updated with latest vitaGL fixes, but if there are further improvements there, it would be nice to be able to see all the ports' menu interfaces without having to squint.
Never felt the need to scale the HUD too (scaling it would make it cover a good portion of rendered scene). However, it can be added.
kingcrimson1920 wrote: Fri Apr 03, 2020 9:25 am thanks for new version. please Rinnegatamante new version of Wolfenstein - with sniper shot.
and i still believe in Clive's barkers undying port or Call of Cthulhu.

and did you see port of Stalker on psp?
What you refer for "sniper shot" (assuming it's supposed to be sniper zoom), can be already set via wolfconfig.cfg edit (just find the proper binding for said action and set it to a vita button as you prefer). As for Stalker, it's not a port but a fanmade clone.
Al Capwn wrote: Thu Apr 02, 2020 12:26 am
Rinnegatamante wrote: Tue Mar 17, 2020 10:42 pm
Al Capwn wrote: Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:51 am I'm also not using retroarch. I'm running VitaQuake 4.0 w/ Quake V1.09 as supplied by GoG; I originally was using my CD Version manually patched, decided to try the GoG version but same results. Vita is PCH-1001 fw3.65 Enso w/ 128gb SD2Vita running YAMT 3.1.
For the crash, check if what khaaaannnn reported solves the issue. For the performance dips, do these happen after playing with the homebrew for a set amount of time or do you have those issues straight from launching the homebrew?
Thank you again for a seriously awesome update. I get excellent performance across the board now, previously I had issues straight away after launching; depending on the map. I haven't tried playing without the soundtrack as a possible fix for the GPUDriver crash, but so far I haven't run into it (that doesn't mean I won't, as before sometimes it didn't happen for days while other times would happen within a minute of playing).

Is there any possibility to be able to use the latest VitaGL to improve other ports such as Xash3D, or does it require much more work than just building Xash3D myself with the latest VitaGL?
Performance boosts from newer vitaGL can be achieved by simply recompiling the homebrew with latest commit of the library, so, yep, it can be used for Xash3D too.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D
Noradninja
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 9:20 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Noradninja »

Can you detail the config cvars for the anaglyph 3D? I see them in config.cfg but am curious what each one does.
Noradninja
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 9:20 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Noradninja »

Also, found a bug-

Played through the first episode. When returned to the episode selection area, if I walk through the slip gate for episode 2, the game crashes. The log text file says ‘not in the range we’re managing’. If I start a new game and go straight to episode 2, it loads fine. If I select episode 3 or 4 on my saved file with episode 1 beaten, they load fine.
Post Reply

Return to “HENkaku”