[CODE] Match, Gauntlet, & AI Test modes

All code submission.
Psyringe

[CODE] Match, Gauntlet, & AI Test modes

Post by Psyringe »

I'm currently trying to add some new playing modes to my personal copy of Wagic. These modes are mainly meant to aid AI development and AI deck construction, although I'll try to implement them in a way that they can be used by players as well, should that be desired and should the devs want to implement these feature into the official codebase.

Work is proceeding very slowly though (actually so slowly that I can't guarantee that I'll ever get anywhere with this), because ...
a) I've never programmed in C++ (or even C) before
b) I have no experience with VC 2008 or any other Microsoft IDE
c) I still have trouble to understand the current structure of the source code

In this situation, I'm prone to make beginner's mistakes. In order to prevent these, I'm creating this thread and telling people what I plan to do. I'll also try to keep it updated when I make progress or change plans. This way, the more experienced devs can hopefully warn me before I do anything stupid. Also, this way the devs can inform me about any plans *they* have which may help or impede my current plans. I'd like to implement these ideas as much in line with current official dev plans as possible, to a) make it easier to implement these features into official Wagic (if desired), and b) make it easier for *me* to adapt my code if any official changes affect the same parts of the program.

Planned Features:

Here's the current plan. I'd like to implement the following three features:

F1) new game mode: AI Test. This is similar to demo mode, however I'll be able to choose the two AI decks that play against each other.

F2) new opponent: Gauntlet. If "Gauntlet" is chosen as opponent, then the game will loop through all opponents available. It first starts a game with AI deck1 as opponent, immediately after this one it starts a game with AI deck2 as an opponent, etc.