OS Choice of Development

If you have a question about the git repository and the code, or if you have code to propose then please post in this forum.
Do not post request here.
lazyfiend

OS Choice of Development

Post by lazyfiend »

I was actually aware of Wagic before but i just became interested in it once it has a version for Android.

Some cards that i want to use are simply not available (like planeswalkers!). Since i am a developer, i decided that this is the right time for me to be motivated to really learn C++ :P.

I have a dual boot Windows 7/Xubuntu laptop, just want to know if developing in Windows is significantly easier than other OSes.
Djardin

Re: OS Choice of Development

Post by Djardin »

I have the "pleasure" to switch dev env very often. I'm using regularly the Visual Studio project of Wagic on Windows and the Qt project on Windows and Linux for those platforms and also mobiles ones supported by Qt. I'm doing Android dev on Linux, and I did some iOS dev from my Mac VM ... but I don't recommend it =).

So, to sum up:
- the Visual Studio project on Windows is my favorite when I have complex debugging to do just because of the quality of the VS debugger.
- Apart from that, I'm doing all my devs from the Qt project in QtCreator on either Linux if I'm home or Windows when I'm not home (my laptop runs Windows).
- I don't do any Android dev directly unless I have to (audio support for example) cause I think the Android SDK and tools in general are just poor for native developments.
mnguyen

Re: OS Choice of Development

Post by mnguyen »