Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

Activating your PlayStation/Vita TV *without* updating!

Post here your guides, tips, how-to, etc...
Post Reply
sogarth
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:05 pm

Activating your PlayStation/Vita TV *without* updating!

Post by sogarth » Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:50 am

Activating and getting onto PSN are not the same thing. This will get you the former, which will let you play games you've purchased on PSN, including those with exploits. It will not let you sign on to PSN.

You will need:
  • A PlayStation/Vita TV (obviously). I'll be simply referring to this as the Vita TV from hereon out.
  • A PlayStation 3.
  • Some game you've bought from PSN (probably a firmware 3.18 exploit game).
On your computer:
  1. Grab a copy of VitaUpdateBlocker and start running it.
    • If you're running Windows, I'd suggest using the download link under Portable Version.
    • Also if you're running Windows, when you run the program, if it asks if it should allow access via the firewall, the answer is yes (if you're running the Windows Firewall, it'll also pop up a User Account Control (UAC) dialog, to which you should approve).
On your PlayStation 3:
  1. Download your PSN game onto your PlayStation 3.
On your Vita TV:
  1. Set up your Vita TV as usual, setting it up with your PSN account, but not updating it. It's probably safest to disable automatic downloading of firmware updates while the network cable's unplugged ()
  2. Set up your Vita TV to use your computer as a network proxy (Settings ⇒ Network ⇒Internet Connection Settings ⇒ LAN Cable ⇒ Advanced Settings, Proxy Server: Use, Address: your computer's IP, as reported by VitaUpdateBlocker).
  3. Launch Content Manager and connect to your PlayStation 3 (Content Manager ⇒ Copy Content ⇒ PS3™ System ⇒ [whatever your PlayStation 3 is called, by default "PS3"] → [enter the code shown by your PlayStation 3]).
  4. Copy your game from the PlayStation 3 to your Vita TV (Copy Content/PS3™ System → PS Vita TV System ⇒ Applications ⇒ Applications/PSP™/Other ⇒ Applications Downloaded on the PS3™ System).
  5. Launch your game from newly downloaded game from Home. Congratulations! Your Vita TV on not-current firmware has now been activated on PSN!
  6. You might as well revert the proxy settings from earlier so that you don't have to keep running the proxy (set Proxy Server: Do Not Use).
On your computer:
  1. You can close VitaUpdateBlocker now. ;)
  2. You can delete it too, but it might come in handy later (see below).
On your Vita TV:
  1. Why are you still reading this? Start having fun!

Notes:
  • If you need, you should also be able to copy any other content onto your Vita TV (such as exploit game save files), especially since you can also take advantage of this mechanism to connect your Vita TV to a computer running OpenCMA.
Miscellaneous musings:
  • I'm sorry if you've updated your Vita TV to firmware 3.30, thinking that your firmware 3.18 Vita TV couldn't have an exploit on it. I cobbled this together less than an hour ago, after spending a few hours trying to figure out how to activate a Vita TV that's not on current firmware.
  • Those of us with Vita TVs have found that activating the Vita TV has been a confluence of a few problems:
    • The usual way of activating a Vita on older firmware is to put it in airplane mode, plug launch it against OpenCMA connected via USB, switch that USB cable to a PlayStation 3, then copy over a game. But the Vita TV doesn't offer a USB transfer mode.
    • The Vita TV does have a memory card slot. But a game activated on a different Vita isn't able to activate a Vita TV's PSN account.
    • The Vita TV can try to connect to a PlayStation 3 or a computer running CMA. But it checks for an Internet connection to check for a firmware update, and refuses to connect if it can't connect to the Internet.
    • If you do manage to get it to connect to OpenCMA (honestly, I don't even remember how I pulled that one off now), and you restore a game backup... that doesn't activate a Vita TV's PSN account either.
    This is when I remembered that with the OpenCMA method, the PlayStation 3 is responsible for tweaking the game so that it can activate the Vita... and that the PlayStation 3 still has network access during this time. So what happens if all that happens is the Vita TV can't check for updates, but everything else stays the same? Which is what this is. Huzzah! :P
Edit (1): Added notes about running VitaUpdateBlocker on Windows.
Edit (2): Tried to make it clear that "activation" and "signing onto PSN" are not the same thing.
Advertising
Last edited by sogarth on Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
reprep
Posts: 1074
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 4:38 pm

Re: Activating your PlayStation/Vita TV *without* updating!

Post by reprep » Sun Oct 19, 2014 11:26 am

Thanks a lot. This will save a lot of Playstation TVs from being updated to 3.30.
Advertising

User avatar
chihuahua
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:39 pm
Location: England

Re: Activating your PlayStation/Vita TV *without* updating!

Post by chihuahua » Sun Oct 19, 2014 11:37 am

just hope the Europe version ships with 3.20 now LOL
2 x Vita TV PVE-1000 - 3.18/3.18
4 x Vita 1000 - 1.80/3.18/3.18/3.18 kiosk
1 x Vita 2000 - 3.18
PS3 Slim 320gb OFW
PS3 Phat 40gb CFW 4.55 Rogero
PS4 White 500gb

User avatar
libchk
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 12:38 am

Re: Activating your PlayStation/Vita TV *without* updating!

Post by libchk » Sun Oct 19, 2014 12:11 pm

can i use my 3.18 game tekken 2 and patapon 2? like transfer the backup from PC to PS3 then transfer it to ps vita TV then activate it?
PS VITA 1007 3.18 patapon 2 / PS1 loader tekken 2
PS TV 3.18 patapon 1 / PS1 loader tekken 2
PSP GO White 6.60
PSP 2000 6.60
PS3 PHAT CFW 4.50 ROGERO
PS3 PHAT OFW 4.7
HP Elitebook 2560P OS: FreeBSD 10.1
Firewall: Alix 2D3 OS: pfSense 2.x

User avatar
chihuahua
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:39 pm
Location: England

Re: Activating your PlayStation/Vita TV *without* updating!

Post by chihuahua » Sun Oct 19, 2014 12:20 pm

yup
2 x Vita TV PVE-1000 - 3.18/3.18
4 x Vita 1000 - 1.80/3.18/3.18/3.18 kiosk
1 x Vita 2000 - 3.18
PS3 Slim 320gb OFW
PS3 Phat 40gb CFW 4.55 Rogero
PS4 White 500gb

User avatar
libchk
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 12:38 am

Re: Activating your PlayStation/Vita TV *without* updating!

Post by libchk » Sun Oct 19, 2014 12:40 pm

even my my vita tv is Asian and my psn is US, will it work?
PS VITA 1007 3.18 patapon 2 / PS1 loader tekken 2
PS TV 3.18 patapon 1 / PS1 loader tekken 2
PSP GO White 6.60
PSP 2000 6.60
PS3 PHAT CFW 4.50 ROGERO
PS3 PHAT OFW 4.7
HP Elitebook 2560P OS: FreeBSD 10.1
Firewall: Alix 2D3 OS: pfSense 2.x

User avatar
chihuahua
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:39 pm
Location: England

Re: Activating your PlayStation/Vita TV *without* updating!

Post by chihuahua » Sun Oct 19, 2014 12:46 pm

no, 3.18 you must have a Asian PSN account. 3.20 + is US and Asian... you cant manually get to 3.20 though as its installed when its left the factory,
2 x Vita TV PVE-1000 - 3.18/3.18
4 x Vita 1000 - 1.80/3.18/3.18/3.18 kiosk
1 x Vita 2000 - 3.18
PS3 Slim 320gb OFW
PS3 Phat 40gb CFW 4.55 Rogero
PS4 White 500gb

User avatar
libchk
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 12:38 am

Re: Activating your PlayStation/Vita TV *without* updating!

Post by libchk » Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:11 pm

ok so i will have to download tekken 2 and patapon 2 on asian psn, thanks.
PS VITA 1007 3.18 patapon 2 / PS1 loader tekken 2
PS TV 3.18 patapon 1 / PS1 loader tekken 2
PSP GO White 6.60
PSP 2000 6.60
PS3 PHAT CFW 4.50 ROGERO
PS3 PHAT OFW 4.7
HP Elitebook 2560P OS: FreeBSD 10.1
Firewall: Alix 2D3 OS: pfSense 2.x

User avatar
chihuahua
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:39 pm
Location: England

Re: Activating your PlayStation/Vita TV *without* updating!

Post by chihuahua » Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:22 pm

that is what i am running on mine, i bought 3000 YEN from on online store was enough to buy tekken2, patapon 2 with some change,
2 x Vita TV PVE-1000 - 3.18/3.18
4 x Vita 1000 - 1.80/3.18/3.18/3.18 kiosk
1 x Vita 2000 - 3.18
PS3 Slim 320gb OFW
PS3 Phat 40gb CFW 4.55 Rogero
PS4 White 500gb

Soul-Reaper
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:37 pm

Re: Activating your PlayStation/Vita TV *without* updating!

Post by Soul-Reaper » Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:34 pm

If only I had a ps3 -_-

Post Reply

Return to “Tutorials”