Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

[RELEASE] vitaQuakeIII - Quake 3: Arena + Quake 3: Team Arena + OpenArena + Urban Terror port for PSVITA

HENkaku is a native Homebrew Enabler for the PS Vita and PS TV. It lets you run homebrews on the PS Vita
User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 892
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeIII - Quake 3: Arena + Quake 3: Team Arena + OpenArena + Urban Terror port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:56 am

Al Capwn wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 9:28 pm
Thank you again for your continued hard work, these updates are just awesome. I am having an issue using the downloader for Urban Terror. When I try running it, it says Image it originally said I needed to free ~600mb so I cleared about 5gb worth, and now with ~8gb free I'm getting this error.
I've pushed an hotfix that should solve your issue, please try to redownload the vpk and see if it solves the issue (UrT btw requires 2.8-3GB for the download phase and will take roughly 1.4 GB after install since the downloaded zip will be deleted).
Advertising
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

Al Capwn
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:43 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeIII - Quake 3: Arena + Quake 3: Team Arena + OpenArena + Urban Terror port for PSVITA

Post by Al Capwn » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:03 pm

Working great, thanks!

Update: After UT finished downloading/installing and hitting X to close the downloader, I get a C2-12828-1 error. In itself that's not really an issue, but when loading up Q3, I see UT in the mod list but when trying to load it, it just reloads regular Q3. The downloader for OpenArena worked without issue and after it finished it opens up OpenArena.
Advertising

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 892
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeIII - Quake 3: Arena + Quake 3: Team Arena + OpenArena + Urban Terror port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:29 pm

Al Capwn wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:03 pm
Working great, thanks!

Update: After UT finished downloading/installing and hitting X to close the downloader, I get a C2-12828-1 error. In itself that's not really an issue, but when loading up Q3, I see UT in the mod list but when trying to load it, it just reloads regular Q3. The downloader for OpenArena worked without issue and after it finished it opens up OpenArena.
If you try to open up UrT from the LiveArea icon does it still goes through the downloader or not? Can you send me the coredump of the crash you get with UrT?
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

Al Capwn
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:43 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeIII - Quake 3: Arena + Quake 3: Team Arena + OpenArena + Urban Terror port for PSVITA

Post by Al Capwn » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:47 pm

Rinnegatamante wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:29 pm
Al Capwn wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:03 pm
Working great, thanks!

Update: After UT finished downloading/installing and hitting X to close the downloader, I get a C2-12828-1 error. In itself that's not really an issue, but when loading up Q3, I see UT in the mod list but when trying to load it, it just reloads regular Q3. The downloader for OpenArena worked without issue and after it finished it opens up OpenArena.
If you try to open up UrT from the LiveArea icon does it still goes through the downloader or not? Can you send me the coredump of the crash you get with UrT?
I get the same error with the LiveArea icon, it still shows itself as the 3 erasers or whatever they are. Here's the coredump file.
Attachments
psp2core-1578957977-0x0000043ef5-urbanterror.bin.psp2dmp.zip
(67.94 KiB) Downloaded 17 times

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 892
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeIII - Quake 3: Arena + Quake 3: Team Arena + OpenArena + Urban Terror port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:29 am

Thanks, i'll take a look at it and see if i can find a solution.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 892
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeIII - Quake 3: Arena + Quake 3: Team Arena + OpenArena + Urban Terror port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:01 pm

Seems like recent vitaGL changes disrupted even more the fragilee Urban Terror core situation. I managed to make it boot again however it now requires qvms to be launched in full interpreter mode (dynarec will cause core to closeup at maps loading).

Here's a proper binary that should work (you'll have to set vm_ui and vm_cgame (and for some maps even vm_game) to 1; also you'll have to set name to something different to default name in q3config inside q3ut4 folder in order to access main menu).

I'll keep doing more tests in the next days to restore the old situation i had during my debugs with this core.

Place this binary in ux0:app/QUAK00003 as usual.

https://rinnegatamante.it/urbanterror.bin
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

gordx
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:29 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeIII - Quake 3: Arena + Quake 3: Team Arena + OpenArena + Urban Terror port for PSVITA

Post by gordx » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:19 pm

Using the new binary the game loads. I edited the config like you said (vm_ui, vm_cgame and vm_game to 1, name to my nickname).

When joining a server it stucks when it is saying "LOADING... SOUNDS". 1 CPU core is 100% busy, the other 2 at 0%.

Seems like the client is not up to date. Some server use protocol 71 while the client is using 68, so it disconnects you when joining.

Once it managed to join the game successfully. I even killed someone with having only ~5-15fps.

If you need a tester, I'm available on discord, henkaku server, nick "super".

Image

Image

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 892
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeIII - Quake 3: Arena + Quake 3: Team Arena + OpenArena + Urban Terror port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Thu Jan 16, 2020 10:46 am

I left Henkaku Discord server long ago. You can join Vita Nuova Discord server for heelping testing, it would be greatly appreciated! https://discord.gg/PyCaBx9

As for the protocol used, i can ask Urban Terror devs about it (most likely i need some minor changes to the netcode).

For the CPU usage, that's sadly expected since idTech3 is fully single threaded. vitaQuakeIII runs only audio playback on a separated thread, the rest of the game code is completely handled by a single thread (and it's not an easy task to make it work multithreaded since it has been tought by id Software iteself to not have such feature).

As for the low fps, you may try lowering resolution, it should greatly help. In config file search for r_mode and change it to 0 or 1 (0 = 480x272, 1 = 640x368). To give you a comparison, vitaRTCW by default uses 640x368 res to get some little fps boost without making texts completely unreadable (like it would with 480x272).
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

Post Reply

Return to “HENkaku”