Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

Adrenaline v3 fixed - Final Fantasy 8 Compatibility?

HENkaku is a native Homebrew Enabler for the PS Vita and PS TV. It lets you run homebrews on the PS Vita
Post Reply
ANU815
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 5:55 pm

Adrenaline v3 fixed - Final Fantasy 8 Compatibility?

Post by ANU815 » Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:54 pm

Anyone have luck getting FF8 to run in adrenaline v3-fixed? I have a disc 4 only eboot and my master savedata that works fine on PSP, I think it was also fine in TN-X. Not sure if there is a game specific fix? This one always needed some tweaks on PSP using popsloader. I'm assuming that shouldn't be needed on adrenaline? Any help would be great.
Advertising

User avatar
dmaskell92
Moderator
Posts: 1168
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 5:07 pm
Location: New York

Re: Adrenaline v3 fixed - Final Fantasy 8 Compatibility?

Post by dmaskell92 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:10 pm

Final Fantasy 8 is very touchy when using PSX2PSP eboots. You do in fact need popsloader, i'm not sure if it's available on Adrenaline, I know it wasn't available on TNv10.

Adrenaline can also run a backup of the official PSN version. Con: Huge file size (4 merged CD's).

IIRC you have to use 3.72 to create a new game, use 3.71 for FMV's that freeze, and use 4.01 for gameplay.

TL:DR, the PSN version is flawless without popsloader, don't use the psx2psp version.
Advertising
Does it quit? If not, then it's legit... Too legit.

Nvidia Shield Portable 48gb
Dreamcast: SEGA Sports - 80gb IDE HDD
4k PS3 Super Slim OFW 4.82
1k PSP: 6.60 ME-2.3
1K PSVita: Ensō 32GB - 64GB SD2VITA - 128GB PSVSD
Image

ANU815
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 5:55 pm

Re: Adrenaline v3 fixed - Final Fantasy 8 Compatibility?

Post by ANU815 » Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:41 am

I found someone on GBAtemp that said they had it working perfectly. I was able to get it to work by doing a 4-disc multi disc version of the eboot instead of just one for for disc 4. I reconverted using popstation 1.4.2 and seems to work fine. As you said, unfortunately I went from a 500mb eboot to a 2gb+!!! Oh well, the price I pay to have all of my FF PS1 games on my vita I guess. Thanks for the input.

User avatar
dmaskell92
Moderator
Posts: 1168
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 5:07 pm
Location: New York

Re: Adrenaline v3 fixed - Final Fantasy 8 Compatibility?

Post by dmaskell92 » Wed Apr 26, 2017 3:38 am

Yes that was the only way to fix the crashing issue was merging the 4 disks.

I've also had success with merging Disk 1 and 2 into a single eboot, and then 3 and 4 into another. You can try that to save a bit of space.
Does it quit? If not, then it's legit... Too legit.

Nvidia Shield Portable 48gb
Dreamcast: SEGA Sports - 80gb IDE HDD
4k PS3 Super Slim OFW 4.82
1k PSP: 6.60 ME-2.3
1K PSVita: Ensō 32GB - 64GB SD2VITA - 128GB PSVSD
Image

solidsnake
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Unknown

Re: Adrenaline v3 fixed - Final Fantasy 8 Compatibility?

Post by solidsnake » Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:58 am

Here's a quick tip I learned. If you can't boot a psx2psp game in adrenaline, try using retroarch psx emulator and bin, cue files instead. You just need to have one disc at a time on your memory stick, then save and copy over another disc when you need to. You should be able to do that in retroarch, though I have only tested a couple of games.

Post Reply

Return to “HENkaku”