Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

What do we need to Put Sound on PSX?

Open discussions on programming specifically for the PS Vita.
Forum rules
Forum rule Nº 15 is strictly enforced in this subforum.
User avatar
wartaf
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:34 pm

Re: What do we need to Put Sound on PSX?

Post by wartaf » Wed May 15, 2013 2:13 am

yeah, it's difficult!! i cant even find a good source for it..

btw, how can i help developing it??
Advertising
PS Vita white 1.81 FW + eCFW (Gravity Crash Portable)

ako'y isang Pinoy ONE PIECE fan

User avatar
fate6
Big Beholder
Posts: 7561
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:18 am
Location: [fate6@Canterlot ~]$

Re: What do we need to Put Sound on PSX?

Post by fate6 » Wed May 15, 2013 2:52 am

well are you proficient in any programming languages?
I belive CB is using C for this
Advertising
Image
anon wrote:If you can't trust a 600 year old vampire in a prepubescent girl's body, who can you trust?

User avatar
wartaf
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:34 pm

Re: What do we need to Put Sound on PSX?

Post by wartaf » Wed May 15, 2013 3:37 am

if it is PL, i have no problem on coding it, i only need the basic of how PSP and PS1 sound is working.. :D
PS Vita white 1.81 FW + eCFW (Gravity Crash Portable)

ako'y isang Pinoy ONE PIECE fan

Jd8531
Posts: 1753
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 5:23 pm

Re: What do we need to Put Sound on PSX?

Post by Jd8531 » Wed May 15, 2013 5:04 am

Yea I dont know what he did either, but if we did we'd have sound by now. It took him 4 months of straight coding just to get it to a "buggy" stage. So my advice is just wait until they do it and then investigate how it works if thats all youre interested in.
Last edited by Jd8531 on Wed May 15, 2013 5:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wartaf
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:34 pm

Re: What do we need to Put Sound on PSX?

Post by wartaf » Wed May 15, 2013 5:08 am

Jd8531 wrote:Yea I dont know what he did either, but if we did wed have sound by now. It took him 4 months of straight coding just to get it to a "buggy" stage. So my advice is just wait until they do it and then investigate how it works if thats all your interested in.
can't wait for it :D also i wish i could help :D btw, who are those people working on it?
PS Vita white 1.81 FW + eCFW (Gravity Crash Portable)

ako'y isang Pinoy ONE PIECE fan

Jd8531
Posts: 1753
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 5:23 pm

Re: What do we need to Put Sound on PSX?

Post by Jd8531 » Wed May 15, 2013 5:39 am

Originally I think it was just Coldbird, could of been some others in TP. Right now until he officially gets back its in the hands of TN to polish and work on.

User avatar
Acid_Snake
Retired Mod
Posts: 3099
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 11:32 am
Location: Behind you!

Re: What do we need to Put Sound on PSX?

Post by Acid_Snake » Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:47 pm

coldbird simply ported peops to the PSP and loaded all sound processing to the CPU as lack of media engine. But he never really got to polish it or implement some missing stuff (XA audio being one iirc). On the PSP, PS1 sound was done by media engine to leave the CPU handling other important tasks and thus keeping a good framerate, but on the Vita the CPU will have to do everything, although I don't think it'll bother framerate much as the vita overclocks the CPU around 500MHz, this should compensate the extra load that sound requires. But again, only two people have the ability to work on this, coldbird and TN, but they both are busy right now.

User avatar
hgoel0974
Retired Mod
Posts: 2153
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:42 pm
Location: Maia, Pleiades Nebula

Re: What do we need to Put Sound on PSX?

Post by hgoel0974 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 4:29 pm

Acid_Snake wrote:coldbird simply ported peops to the PSP and loaded all sound processing to the CPU as lack of media engine. But he never really got to polish it or implement some missing stuff (XA audio being one iirc). On the PSP, PS1 sound was done by media engine to leave the CPU handling other important tasks and thus keeping a good framerate, but on the Vita the CPU will have to do everything, although I don't think it'll bother framerate much as the vita overclocks the CPU around 500MHz, this should compensate the extra load that sound requires. But again, only two people have the ability to work on this, coldbird and TN, but they both are busy right now.
lets see 15 days from may, 30 days from june and 2 days of july = 47 days
necropost? :lol:

where does everyone get all this info on the hardware? even yapsp doesn't go into detail about this peops stuff
"If the truth is a cruel mistress, then a lie must be a nice girl"

User avatar
pspfanMOHH
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:16 pm
Location: Grand Line, New World

Re: What do we need to Put Sound on PSX?

Post by pspfanMOHH » Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:45 pm

hgoel0974 wrote:
Acid_Snake wrote:coldbird simply ported peops to the PSP and loaded all sound processing to the CPU as lack of media engine. But he never really got to polish it or implement some missing stuff (XA audio being one iirc). On the PSP, PS1 sound was done by media engine to leave the CPU handling other important tasks and thus keeping a good framerate, but on the Vita the CPU will have to do everything, although I don't think it'll bother framerate much as the vita overclocks the CPU around 500MHz, this should compensate the extra load that sound requires. But again, only two people have the ability to work on this, coldbird and TN, but they both are busy right now.
lets see 15 days from may, 30 days from june and 2 days of july = 47 days
necropost? :lol:

where does everyone get all this info on the hardware? even yapsp doesn't go into detail about this peops stuff
So go to google and types this quote in search bar with the name hgoel0974
even yapsp doesn't go into detail about this peops stuff

Post Reply

Return to “Programming and Security”