Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

CMA/reinstall windows

Everything that is PSVita-related but doesn't go in any other subforum
User avatar
albie85
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:43 am
Location: Plymouth/England

CMA/reinstall windows

Post by albie85 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 8:14 pm

I have a lot of stuff backed up with open CMA but I want to reinstall windows. I don't have enough space on my vita for it all at once can I copy my folders from documents then put it back after? will I still see the backed up content after and be able to copy it?
Advertising
PSP 1000 6.60 PRO CFW + PANDORA BATTERY
PSVITA 3G/WIFI 3.18 CUSTOM BUBBLES! TN-V etc
PS2 SLIM FMCB
PS3 Slim 250GB E3 Flasher REBUG 4.46 Spoofed 4.66
PS4 500GB :p
:geek: :geek: :geek:

User avatar
albie85
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:43 am
Location: Plymouth/England

Re: CMA/reinstall windows

Post by albie85 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:50 pm

albie85 wrote:I have a lot of stuff backed up with open CMA but I want to reinstall windows. I don't have enough space on my vita for it all at once can I copy my folders from documents then put it back after? will I still see the backed up content after and be able to copy it?
Can anybody help ASAP please as I am waiting to reinstall windows
Advertising
PSP 1000 6.60 PRO CFW + PANDORA BATTERY
PSVITA 3G/WIFI 3.18 CUSTOM BUBBLES! TN-V etc
PS2 SLIM FMCB
PS3 Slim 250GB E3 Flasher REBUG 4.46 Spoofed 4.66
PS4 500GB :p
:geek: :geek: :geek:

User avatar
b2p1mp
Posts: 760
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 3:40 pm
Location: USA

Re: CMA/reinstall windows

Post by b2p1mp » Thu Jan 31, 2013 3:48 pm

It should work. Why don't you test it with a small app. Copy that app to pc, move it around... redirect CMA to see the location you want, and see if CMA on the vita sees the app. Why do you have to reinstall windows?
Twenty Minutes Into the Future

User avatar
albie85
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:43 am
Location: Plymouth/England

Re: CMA/reinstall windows

Post by albie85 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 8:20 am

b2p1mp wrote:It should work. Why don't you test it with a small app. Copy that app to pc, move it around... redirect CMA to see the location you want, and see if CMA on the vita sees the app. Why do you have to reinstall windows?
Having a lot of probs with win 8 everytime i open a tile the whole user resets itself. I prefer win 7 anyways don't like tiles as I'm not touch screen.
PSP 1000 6.60 PRO CFW + PANDORA BATTERY
PSVITA 3G/WIFI 3.18 CUSTOM BUBBLES! TN-V etc
PS2 SLIM FMCB
PS3 Slim 250GB E3 Flasher REBUG 4.46 Spoofed 4.66
PS4 500GB :p
:geek: :geek: :geek:

ZgamerR
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 11:05 am
Location: Java Paradise

Re: CMA/reinstall windows

Post by ZgamerR » Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:54 am

albie85 wrote:
b2p1mp wrote:It should work. Why don't you test it with a small app. Copy that app to pc, move it around... redirect CMA to see the location you want, and see if CMA on the vita sees the app. Why do you have to reinstall windows?
Having a lot of probs with win 8 everytime i open a tile the whole user resets itself. I prefer win 7 anyways don't like tiles as I'm not touch screen.

i thought you said you havent got enough space on your vita ?

User avatar
albie85
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:43 am
Location: Plymouth/England

Re: CMA/reinstall windows

Post by albie85 » Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:25 am

ZgamerR wrote:
albie85 wrote:
b2p1mp wrote:It should work. Why don't you test it with a small app. Copy that app to pc, move it around... redirect CMA to see the location you want, and see if CMA on the vita sees the app. Why do you have to reinstall windows?
Having a lot of probs with win 8 everytime i open a tile the whole user resets itself. I prefer win 7 anyways don't like tiles as I'm not touch screen.

i thought you said you havent got enough space on your vita ?
I prob didn't explain properly I ment ive only got a 4gb card so I can't put it all on my vita while I reinstall windows.
I've got like 50gb worth of stuff but it don't really matter at the moment because I'm moving so everythings getting packed up.

I'll try and copy cma folders to my hdd then see if I can copy them bk to my pc
PSP 1000 6.60 PRO CFW + PANDORA BATTERY
PSVITA 3G/WIFI 3.18 CUSTOM BUBBLES! TN-V etc
PS2 SLIM FMCB
PS3 Slim 250GB E3 Flasher REBUG 4.46 Spoofed 4.66
PS4 500GB :p
:geek: :geek: :geek:

User avatar
XxGodOfWar2xX
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:28 pm
Location: Lurking in the Shadows
Contact:

Re: CMA/reinstall windows

Post by XxGodOfWar2xX » Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:37 am

For this, This isn't an issue of the Vita (Unless it's 50 GB or so of games and apps for vita)
It seems like you should invest in something we like to call an External Hard Drive.
I bought a 1 TB for like $80 at Walmart. and it's Toshiba branded.

redth
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 3:03 pm

Re: CMA/reinstall windows

Post by redth » Tue Feb 05, 2013 3:35 am

You can keep all those files when reinstall Windows, just don't format your HDD.
Old files will be moved inside windows.old folder after the installation.

User avatar
albie85
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:43 am
Location: Plymouth/England

Re: CMA/reinstall windows

Post by albie85 » Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:42 pm

thankyou redth but dont it now anyway i dont no what godofwar2 is goin on about im not a noob i have many external hdd including a 1TB plus i wasnt really asking a noob question.

what i did was copied all my backup files on my pc to my external hdd, installed a fresh windows then installed open cma and replaced ps vita folder with the one from my hdd. it recognised it with no problems
PSP 1000 6.60 PRO CFW + PANDORA BATTERY
PSVITA 3G/WIFI 3.18 CUSTOM BUBBLES! TN-V etc
PS2 SLIM FMCB
PS3 Slim 250GB E3 Flasher REBUG 4.46 Spoofed 4.66
PS4 500GB :p
:geek: :geek: :geek:

User avatar
albie85
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:43 am
Location: Plymouth/England

Re: CMA/reinstall windows

Post by albie85 » Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:43 pm

albie85 wrote:thankyou redth but dont it now anyway i dont no what godofwar2 is goin on about im not a noob i have many external hdd including a 1TB plus i wasnt really asking a noob question.

what i did was copied all my backup files on my pc to my external hdd, installed a fresh windows then installed open cma and replaced ps vita folder with the one from my hdd. it recognised it with no problems
think godofwar2 got lost somwere thought i was pretty clear
PSP 1000 6.60 PRO CFW + PANDORA BATTERY
PSVITA 3G/WIFI 3.18 CUSTOM BUBBLES! TN-V etc
PS2 SLIM FMCB
PS3 Slim 250GB E3 Flasher REBUG 4.46 Spoofed 4.66
PS4 500GB :p
:geek: :geek: :geek:

Post Reply

Return to “General”