Forum rules: Forum rule Nº 15 is strictly enforced in this subforum.
#15331 by wololo
Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:09 am
I'm posting this in the PSP programming forum as I'm trying to focus on the recent work by MathieuLH regarding PSP Eboots.
Please bear with me as I'm completely new to the PS3 development work, so I have more questions than answers here.

I'm trying to understand the process with which Mathieu found the PSP master key as well as the signing/encryption algorithms hidden within the PS3 firmware. anybody with interest to help/explain ?

My sources of information:
http://dukio.com/gadget/mathieulh-psp-m ... s-ps3.html (a quick summary of what Mathieu said so far regarding his recent work on the PSP)
http://ps3wiki.lan.st/index.php/SELF_Fi ... Decryption (the SELF format explained)
http://psx-scene.com/forums/643064-post1.html Most of the tools released so far, in a compiled way. Source is included.
https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key ... utput=html frequently updated list of keys
There are more "fresh" sources of information (lan.st, twitter, geohot's website...) but the 3 ones above have the benefit of regrouping most of the stuff I think is needed for now.

What I did
I downloaded the PS3 update from the official PS3 site.
Running pup_unpack on that file correctly decrypted the firmware.
I then unpacked the tar file containing all the pkg files, and did the following to decrypt/unpack the dev_flash files:
Code: Select allfor i in `ls dev_flash*`; do ./depkg $i $i.tar ; tar -xvf ./$i.tar ; rm $i.tar; done

Hmmm...from there I'm basically lost already...
everything in dev_flash/pspemu could be interesting...
in that folder, there are two .self files: psp_emulator.self and psp_translator.self
Are those interesting? Are they encrypted? How to decrypt/disassemble the code in those?
I tried the decrypt_self tool included in the package above, but this gives me what looks like an empty elf, whatever key I try to use.