Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

Sound issues in gpSP

Running old school games on your PSP? It's definitely possible
joegt123

Sound issues in gpSP

Post by joegt123 » Sun Jun 01, 2014 8:11 am

Admittedly, I'm a gratuitous noob to this whole thing, but I just downloaded gpSP Kai and put it on my psp3000 which has CFW 6.60 PRO-C.

I start up my games (DBZ Legacy of Goku 2 and Metroid Zero Mission) and I notice some sound issues. A weird warping of the music that causes the audio to bob and weave, as well as a periodic, persistent ticking sound. I tried messing around with the audio buffer and the framerate settings. Low/low buffer size, auto/off framerate, etc. Nothing seems to fix it or even make it slightly better.

I did notice that the warbling was less present in metroid than legacy of goku, but the ticking was actually more frequent by a small degree.

Any help here would be appreciated. If you need specific stats on what I'm running, please walk me through what you're asking for as I've just been messing around with things so far and have even been out of the psp CFW scene for a while.
Advertising

TecXero

Re: Sound issues in gpSP

Post by TecXero » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:15 am

You can play with the sound buffer, but Kai has always had sound issues. Kai hasn't the greatest compatibility and hasn't been updated in a while. If you can't stand the sound, check out TempGBA4PSP and gpSP-J. They're not the fastest but they do have better compatibility and sound. I generally have a few different forks on my PSP, using different forks for different games.
Advertising
PSP Slim CFW 6.60 ME-2.2
Wii 4.3 d2x cIOS v10-alt Beta53 Base 56 & 57

joegt123

Post by joegt123 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 5:04 am

Hmm. This is probably a stupid question, but would the save data be compatible from one to the next? If I were to copy my save files from Kai to Temp, for example.