Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

Harddisk replacement.

Everything related to computers that doesn't go in other categories
Post Reply
theastamana
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:39 am

Harddisk replacement.

Post by theastamana » Mon Dec 30, 2013 5:48 pm

Hello everybody,

I have a very old hard disk inside my pc. Before it breaks, I want to replace it.
Now my question, all of my programms are installed on that drive (D:), can I just swap the drive out, copy and paste everything onto the new one?
I cannot figure out if this is the case, I would rather not install all programms again..

Windows is NOT installed on this disk.

Thanks,

THA
Advertising

User avatar
jc_gargma
Retired Mod
Posts: 2602
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:05 am
Location: The Netherworld

Re: Harddisk replacement.

Post by jc_gargma » Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:02 pm

Just copy them to the new drive as is.
Many will likely still work.
Anything that doesn't work, just reinstall it on a case-by-case basic.
Advertising

theastamana
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:39 am

Re: Harddisk replacement.

Post by theastamana » Tue Dec 31, 2013 3:12 pm

jc_gargma wrote:Just copy them to the new drive as is.
Many will likely still work.
Anything that doesn't work, just reinstall it on a case-by-case basic.
So you say, only certain programms could have problems with the hard drive change? In that case I don't mind

User avatar
jc_gargma
Retired Mod
Posts: 2602
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:05 am
Location: The Netherworld

Re: Harddisk replacement.

Post by jc_gargma » Tue Dec 31, 2013 6:52 pm

It really varies by the program.
More DRM-picky stuff you likely will need to, but for many modern PC gamers, Steam's data archive can be moved to an new HDD, and re-linked with minimal trouble.

If you are retaining your core HDD for windows, just relink the new gaming HDD with the data copied onto it as the same drive letter your old gaming HDD used. This may further reduce issues, and if you keep your new gaming HDD folder structure the same, most of your shortcuts should work as if nothing had changed.

Post Reply

Return to “General”