Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

sceUtilitySavedataGetStatus keeps returning 1 (initializing)

This is the development forum of the half-byte loader project. For general Half Byte Loader questions, visit the Half Byte Loader forum.
Forum rules
This forum is for HBL Development discussions ONLY. For User support or HBL general discussions, go to viewforum.php?f=3 . Messages that are not development related will be deleted.
Locked
wololo
Site Admin
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:42 am
Location: Japan

sceUtilitySavedataGetStatus keeps returning 1 (initializing)

Post by wololo »

I'm making progress on some game exploits that have been sent to me, each one of them coming with a new limitation I had never seen before.
In this particular case, inside the function p5_open_savedata (in HBL's loader.c), the calls to sceUtilitySavedataGetStatus keep returning "1" (Initializing), as if the game was refusing to open the savedata dialog...
http://code.google.com/p/valentine-hbl/ ... ader.c#461

(the call to sceUtilitySavedataInitStart returns 0, as in "no error")

Has anybody ever experienced this?
Advertising
If you need US PSN Codes, this technique is what I recommend.

Looking for guest bloggers and news hunters here at wololo.net, PM me!
JJS
Big Beholder
Posts: 1416
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 2:18 pm
Contact:

Re: sceUtilitySavedataGetStatus keeps returning 1 (initializ

Post by JJS »

Did you try other "modes" (the parameter to p5_open_savedata)?
Advertising
wololo
Site Admin
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:42 am
Location: Japan

Re: sceUtilitySavedataGetStatus keeps returning 1 (initializ

Post by wololo »

I will try. I tried changing some other parameters in there to no extent. I've been "distracted" by thecobra's exploit recently so didn't spend time on this issue since you replied.
If you need US PSN Codes, this technique is what I recommend.

Looking for guest bloggers and news hunters here at wololo.net, PM me!
wth
HBL Developer
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: sceUtilitySavedataGetStatus keeps returning 1 (initializ

Post by wth »

one new exploited game of mine has sceUtilitySavedataGetStatus always returning 2 (Visible) xD
so I have to define DISABLE_P5_STUBS to avoid an infinite loop there, kinda weird ^^'


Edit : I bet it's related to this viewtopic.php?f=4&t=11412 for me
Indeed I solve this other issue in eLoader.c only, so in loader.c my sceGe issue isn't fixed yet

But my game doesn't import sceGeListDeQueue, it can be called successfully thanks to hbl though, but not in loader.c
I'd need to figure out how to call sceGeListDeQueue the same way as hbl does in eLoader.c, but in loader.c, to be able to fix my sceGe display bug before anything
Kankertje
Moderator
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:22 pm
Contact:

Re: sceUtilitySavedataGetStatus keeps returning 1 (initializ

Post by Kankertje »

Experiencing exactly same problem, DISABLE_P5_STUBS helps but i need it

Did anyone find solution ?

(sorry for gravedig)
Kankertje
Moderator
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:22 pm
Contact:

Re: sceUtilitySavedataGetStatus keeps returning 1 (initializ

Post by Kankertje »

Fellow qwikrazor87 found way to fix this issue 8-)

All you have to do :

Code: Select all

int sceKernelVolatileMemUnlock(int unknown);

sceKernelVolatileMemUnlock(0);
before p5 stubs

Not all games have this function, but this particular one wololo was talking about has it.
wololo
Site Admin
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:42 am
Location: Japan

Re: sceUtilitySavedataGetStatus keeps returning 1 (initializ

Post by wololo »

Awesome, thanks! This unlocks a good chunk of games that could be used for future releases!
If you need US PSN Codes, this technique is what I recommend.

Looking for guest bloggers and news hunters here at wololo.net, PM me!
Acid_Snake
Retired Mod
Posts: 3100
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 11:32 am
Location: Behind you!

Re: sceUtilitySavedataGetStatus keeps returning 1 (initializ

Post by Acid_Snake »

My conclusion about this problem is that it mostly (if not always) affects games that autoload/autosave but never bring up the PSP savedata interface. Maybe these games do something that prevents the savedata dialog loop from working correctly.
Locked

Return to “Half Byte Loader Development”