Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

[RELEASE] EDuke32 Vita

HENkaku is a native Homebrew Enabler for the PS Vita and PS TV. It lets you run homebrews on the PS Vita
MysticalLiete
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:28 am

Re: [RELEASE] EDuke32 Vita

Post by MysticalLiete » Sat Sep 08, 2018 3:08 pm

I'm having an issue where the Atomic Edition .grp file is loaded as regular vanilla Duke 3D. Anybody else experiencing this?
Advertising
a.k.a sj33

swit
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:49 am

Re: [RELEASE] EDuke32 Vita

Post by swit » Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:00 pm

That's something you should check on EDuke32 website i suppose. I don't own Duke Nukem 3D nor original expansion packs so i can't test personally.
Here is how PC version loads GRP files (expansions or mods that work as campaign replacement):
Image
This feature is missing in the Vita version. On top of it Vita version can't have different GRP files in the ModDir. If it does all content of those GRP files becomes mixed (with all 3 exapsnion the result is Nuclear Winter intro, Beach sky and weapon textures, normal levels).

Another problem with vita version is the lack of support for "autoload" directory, which in PC version allows to replace midi music with ogg files.
Advertising

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 832
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] EDuke32 Vita

Post by Rinnegatamante » Sun Feb 24, 2019 1:49 pm

EDuke32 Vita v.1.5 available for download, now with autoload, mods, add-ons support and several bugfixes.

Changelog:
- Updated to a newer build of the engine (r6862).
- Fixed autoload support. Now it works as intended. (Remember to set NoAutoload to 0 in eduke32.cfg)
- Fixed graphics glitches with sprites and mirrors. Now they're correctly rendered.
- Sprites are now rendered in higher quality.
- Added a launcher on boot that allows to select what GRP to load.
- Added a way at boot to launch the engine with custom commandline arguments for mods and special GRPs support.
- Increased available RAM for the engine from 192 MB to 330 MB.
- Added bilinear filtering to the final rendered framebuffer.
- Fix for log file not being generated. Now it's correctly filled in ux0:data/EDuke32/eduke32.log.

For add-ons installation, take a look here: https://wiki.eduke32.com/wiki/The_Offic ... tion_Guide

NOTE: If you had already installed an older version of this port, delete your ux0:data/EDuke32 folder contents except for gamesaves and eventual RTS/GRP files and replace everything with the files in the new data files zip file.

Download: http://vitadb.rinnegatamante.it/#/info/397
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

swit
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:49 am

Re: [RELEASE] EDuke32 Vita

Post by swit » Sun Feb 24, 2019 4:44 pm

sweet, I've been looking forward for this update :)
- Fixed autoload support. Now it works as intended. (Remember to set NoAutoload to 0 in eduke32.cfg)
Any chance for quick tutorial on how to use it? Following the default EDuke32 steps to get the ogg files music running results in app crash (likely because, unlike PC version, ZIP files are not supported). Extracting duke3d_music-sc55.zip directly to autoload directory works, but the music is not played. In fact I can't get any music to work (no even the MIDI one).

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 832
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] EDuke32 Vita

Post by Rinnegatamante » Sun Feb 24, 2019 6:23 pm

Hotfix (v.1.5.1) available for download: http://vitadb.rinnegatamante.it/#/info/397

Changelog:
- Reduced memory available from 330 MB to 300 MB to prevent crashes with some GRP files.
- Added sceIme keyboard for inputting savegames names (Thanks to rsn8887).
- Fixed autoload feature crashing the game on certain setups.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 832
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] EDuke32 Vita

Post by Rinnegatamante » Sun Feb 24, 2019 6:45 pm

swit wrote:
Sun Feb 24, 2019 4:44 pm
sweet, I've been looking forward for this update :)
- Fixed autoload support. Now it works as intended. (Remember to set NoAutoload to 0 in eduke32.cfg)
Any chance for quick tutorial on how to use it? Following the default EDuke32 steps to get the ogg files music running results in app crash (likely because, unlike PC version, ZIP files are not supported). Extracting duke3d_music-sc55.zip directly to autoload directory works, but the music is not played. In fact I can't get any music to work (no even the MIDI one).
MIDI one is actually not supported due to SDL on Vita not having MIDI support. Be sure to download the hotfix version (1.5.1) and place the zip file in ux0:data/EDuke32/autoload. Then open eduke32.cfg and edit NoAutoload=1 to NoAutoload=0.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

Sindrik
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 11:55 pm

Re: [RELEASE] EDuke32 Vita

Post by Sindrik » Mon Feb 25, 2019 1:00 am

anyone with a temporary mirror? download speed from rinne site are 5 bytes/s here :(

right now i am stuck at 0 bytes/s and almost at the end of the vpk download only, it gets even more awful as it gets closer to the end

edit: 3 hours later finally downloaded it.

thanks for the update, rinnegatamante! works perfect

User avatar
Akula
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:36 am
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: [RELEASE] EDuke32 Vita

Post by Akula » Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:56 pm

TFW Duke Forces won't work
Image

Seriously though, nicely done, just don't think the Vita has the juice to handle anything more than the basics.

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 832
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] EDuke32 Vita

Post by Rinnegatamante » Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:29 am

Akula wrote:
Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:56 pm
TFW Duke Forces won't work
Image

Seriously though, nicely done, just don't think the Vita has the juice to handle anything more than the basics.
Did you follow instructions in EDuke32 wiki for Duke Forces? Some GRPs require particular commandline args.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

imortis
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 3:43 pm

Re: [RELEASE] EDuke32 Vita

Post by imortis » Wed Feb 27, 2019 10:16 am

Thanks for great port. Is there any way to make is less demanding on Vita? I get BloodCM (Blood port for Eduke32) to run, but framerate is really bad. If i change resolution to less than 960x544 pixels it runs in small window located in top left corner (not stretched to full screen).

Post Reply

Return to “HENkaku”