Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

[RELEASE] vitaQuakeII - Quake II port for PSVITA

HENkaku is a native Homebrew Enabler for the PS Vita and PS TV. It lets you run homebrews on the PS Vita
Saitek
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 8:27 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeII - Quake II port for PSVITA

Post by Saitek » Sun Mar 18, 2018 4:27 am

I've been really amazed how well your Quake 3 for vita is running. Saw it was a diy on y*utube and it works very well, Soon but not ready for prime time just yet, Awesome still.
Advertising

NakedFaerie
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:45 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeII - Quake II port for PSVITA

Post by NakedFaerie » Sun Mar 18, 2018 4:44 am

Rinnegatamante wrote:
Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:46 pm
mrdude wrote:
Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:20 pm
It might work ok with the shareware game, for the full game this update breaks video playback, crashes loading old game saves, and brightness doesn't work.

Thanks for releasing though, I do hope you fix these things which previously worked on the full game in the last version released.
Collect coredumps for those crashes and post them here or send me them in PM so i can try to figure out what's crashing. (I do not own a Quake II installation with cinematics, so never tested them with openGL renderer).
For me the error says its a newer save file so you added GL but downgraded the game so we can no longer load our newer savegames.
Advertising

kingcrimson1920
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:07 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeII - Quake II port for PSVITA

Post by kingcrimson1920 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 1:42 pm

It’s possible RUN Unreal? This is the sam engine like quake 2?.


And my question for other game - Clive Barker’s Undying - possible?!

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeII - Quake II port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:24 pm

vitaQuakeII v.1.5.1 released!

I wanted to improve more stuffs before this relese but vitaGL regressed this game and i still have no clue how to fix it. This release infact is using an old vitaGL build and not latest commit on repository.

Changelog:
- Enabled extended memory mode: now Quake II has 109 MB more of RAM for usage.
- Fixed cinematics. Now they don't crash anymore the game and are working as expected.
- Added gyroscope support for aiming (Thanks to jakebriggs)
- New Livearea assets (thanks to Ch3lin)

Thanks to all my Patroners for their support:
Styde Pregny
Billy McLaughlin II
XandridFire
AnOtHeROnE
gnuffy
Jorge Laurencena
rsn8887
PSX-Place.com
John Wanot
Count Duckula
polytoad
Edd
Defkyle
Davenor
Samuel Batista
Jaden Emrich
Elwood Blues
Justin
Angel Villagómez
Daniel Crane
Lars Zondervan
Yakara Network
Santiago Quiroga
Pirloui
Ramerson Wesley Araújo
temp_anon
2Mourty
gnmmarechal
Bryan Hanbury
Gelson Silva

Download:
http://vitadb.rinnegatamante.it/#/info/278
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

mrdude
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:48 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeII - Quake II port for PSVITA

Post by mrdude » Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:57 pm

Thanks, what version of vitaGL - I want to mod the source in the game to alter my weapons, so I prefer to compile myself. Cheers

GyaragaX
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:30 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeII - Quake II port for PSVITA

Post by GyaragaX » Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:40 pm

I'm having some issues. I held off on updating to the hardware accelerated version until the cinematics were confirmed working.

I had the full game with video/sound and all, and everything worked fine, before. After installing the new version over the previous install, using VHBB, after launching, the id Software video plays, then it gets stuck on Loading.

So, I uninstalled everything, deleted the quake2 data folder, and started from scratch. I installed the vpk from VitaDB and used the base shareware data. That all worked fine (though it errored out when I quit the game).

After making sure that worked, I then copied the full game files to the quake2 directory.

It started up fine. I started a new game, and the opening cinematic played, but it crashes as soon as the first video ends. Not sure where to go from here, but here are a couple core dumps if that helps. 1 and 2


Problem solved. I was just adding too much from my pc baseq2 directory. Just using the pak files and video directory, it all works as it should.
Last edited by GyaragaX on Fri Apr 13, 2018 1:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeII - Quake II port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:24 pm

mrdude wrote:
Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:57 pm
Thanks, what version of vitaGL - I want to mod the source in the game to alter my weapons, so I prefer to compile myself. Cheers
vitaGL: https://github.com/Rinnegatamante/vitaG ... 8b154d644a
vitaQuakeII: https://github.com/Rinnegatamante/vitaQ ... be18b09bd7
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

mrdude
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:48 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeII - Quake II port for PSVITA

Post by mrdude » Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:08 pm

Rinnegatamante wrote:
Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:24 pm
mrdude wrote:
Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:57 pm
Thanks, what version of vitaGL - I want to mod the source in the game to alter my weapons, so I prefer to compile myself. Cheers
vitaGL: https://github.com/Rinnegatamante/vitaG ... 8b154d644a
vitaQuakeII: https://github.com/Rinnegatamante/vitaQ ... be18b09bd7
Thanks. :D

User avatar
Dutt
HBL Tester
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 7:41 am
Location: Queensland, Australia

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeII - Quake II port for PSVITA

Post by Dutt » Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:35 am

Hi Rinnegatamante,
Great work on the Quake ports, Love these games a lot on the Vita. Just seems to be some bugs in this last release tho i cant work it out sometimes it loads the config sometimes it doesn't iv changed the gamma manually in the config it worked but i wanted to make it just a little more brighter so i edited it again but seems to not load it.
Also seems to not save the config if changed in game.
The videos do not play for me at all. Long black screen when i start the game no sounds or anything menu just pops up. No video when starting new game.
Would love if you can get the keyboard to work when the console is brought up as well, Game just crashes.
Changing the gamma in game menu seems to do nothing.
Quit option works sometimes and crashes most times. Core dump when this happens https://www.dropbox.com/s/4wymoxcto70vv ... p2dmp?dl=0
If in game and Vita goes to sleep game crashes. Core dump when this happens https://www.dropbox.com/s/lny1q96ul92gd ... p2dmp?dl=0

An option to reverse the gyro would be handy as well moves the wrong way for me.

Im using full game files as well
feel free to PM me if you want me to test anything before releasing it. :)
Looking forward to the next update and future Ports.
1. PS Vita Wifi 2.01 fw - Pro-V/Ark
1. PS Vita Wifi 3.18 fw - ?
1. PS Vita 3G 3.60 fw - HENkaku

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuakeII - Quake II port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:50 am

Dutt wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:35 am
Hi Rinnegatamante,
Great work on the Quake ports, Love these games a lot on the Vita. Just seems to be some bugs in this last release tho i cant work it out sometimes it loads the config sometimes it doesn't iv changed the gamma manually in the config it worked but i wanted to make it just a little more brighter so i edited it again but seems to not load it.
Also seems to not save the config if changed in game.
The videos do not play for me at all. Long black screen when i start the game no sounds or anything menu just pops up. No video when starting new game.
Would love if you can get the keyboard to work when the console is brought up as well, Game just crashes.
Changing the gamma in game menu seems to do nothing.
Quit option works sometimes and crashes most times. Core dump when this happens https://www.dropbox.com/s/4wymoxcto70vv ... p2dmp?dl=0
If in game and Vita goes to sleep game crashes. Core dump when this happens https://www.dropbox.com/s/lny1q96ul92gd ... p2dmp?dl=0

An option to reverse the gyro would be handy as well moves the wrong way for me.

Im using full game files as well
feel free to PM me if you want me to test anything before releasing it. :)
Looking forward to the next update and future Ports.
- Gamma changing is bugged the same way it is in vanilla GLQuake (it's a bug i fixed in vitaQuake but still isn't in vitaQuakeII).
- For the videos, do you have a video folder in your Quake 2 data files with .cin files inside?
- Keyboard for console is planned however atm i'm struggling fixing regressions caused by vitaGL with that specific port.
- Reversing the gyro is something i was planning to add too in the Options menu since i dislike too current vertical handling.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

Post Reply

Return to “HENkaku”