Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

[RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

HENkaku is a native Homebrew Enabler for the PS Vita and PS TV. It lets you run homebrews on the PS Vita
Post Reply
User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:49 pm

Razzy wrote:
Rinnegatamante wrote:I'm working on a lot of ports atm. Basically i want to port all my 3ds homebrews to psvita so vitaQuake development is proceding slowly.
Take your time, HENkaku's been out for only a week, people need to learn some patience.

By the way, if you have a moment, you could look at other ID software games. Many have had PSP ports (aside of Quake, there was Doom, Hexen, Heretic, Hexen II, Quake 2 and Quake 3) and with Vita's power they could only work better. I'd be especially stoked to see a Quake 2 port, that game was awesome. And on Vita, the greatest drawback of PSP ports is gone - single analog cotrols.
Hexen II port is finished by 10 months but it random crashes and i can't find a solution: https://github.com/Rinnegatamante/vitaH ... ter/source
Advertising
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

lupus
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:45 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by lupus » Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:06 am

is it possible to bind some commands to touchpad/touchscreen?
Advertising

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:08 am

lupus wrote:is it possible to bind some commands to touchpad/touchscreen?
Touchopad/Touchscreen asre actually used for camera movement but in latest release they got disabled cause changes in how HENkaku initialize modules. In next release they will be re-enabled.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

lupus
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:45 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by lupus » Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:25 am

So can i use touchpad in next release to change weapon: right part swipe - next weapon, left - prew?
And another question: i'm trying play my old quake arena arcade r4 for psp with vitaQuake, but some transparancy in menu and hud sprites is not supported, can you fix it in next version?
Thx

Image
Image

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Sat Aug 06, 2016 11:53 am

lupus wrote:So can i use touchpad in next release to change weapon: right part swipe - next weapon, left - prew?
And another question: i'm trying play my old quake arena arcade r4 for psp with vitaQuake, but some transparancy in menu and hud sprites is not supported, can you fix it in next version?
Thx

Image
Image
I'm quite sure you need the engine used by HexenII (it's just a modified Quake Engine with more effect and sadly which lags a lot and randomly crashes, already tried to port it)
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:10 pm

vitaQuake updated to version 1.4!

Download link can be found here: http://rinnegatamante.it

Changelog:

Code: Select all

- Removed black screen on startup for 5 seconds.
- Improved a bit framerate.
- Added a rescaler in Options menu to change renderer resolution for fps enthusiasts.
- Improved audio quality. Now audio shouldn't crackle anymore.
- Fix for Always Run options and Run button (LTRIGGER). Now they both work as intended.
- Increased analogs deadzone.
- Changed default camera sensibility. Now should be less reactive and more usable.
- Fixxed renderer aspect ratio. Before game was using a wrong aspect ratio (4:3 instead of 30:17).
- Fixxed renderer. Now glitchy brown rects shouldn't appear anymore on screen randomly.
- Fixxed touchscreen and retrotouch. Now they're both usable for camera movement like in v.1.2.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

User avatar
mindglitch
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: chi town

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by mindglitch » Wed Aug 10, 2016 4:35 pm

h e l l yea. thanks. you are the man!
-always use the search function before asking and if you receive help from anyone, say thanks and remember to pay it forward.
[spoiler]#387843 by dgjg0622
Tue May 12, 2015 12:01 pm

Me too,i can't install it, i am not back up, i can't update,I want dead[/spoiler]

User avatar
aymeric000
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:53 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by aymeric000 » Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:53 pm

Rinnegatamante wrote:vitaQuake updated to version 1.4!

Download link can be found here: http://rinnegatamante.it

Changelog:

Code: Select all

- Removed black screen on startup for 5 seconds.
- Improved a bit framerate.
- Added a rescaler in Options menu to change renderer resolution for fps enthusiasts.
- Improved audio quality. Now audio shouldn't crackle anymore.
- Fix for Always Run options and Run button (LTRIGGER). Now they both work as intended.
- Increased analogs deadzone.
- Changed default camera sensibility. Now should be less reactive and more usable.
- Fixxed renderer aspect ratio. Before game was using a wrong aspect ratio (4:3 instead of 30:17).
- Fixxed renderer. Now glitchy brown rects shouldn't appear anymore on screen randomly.
- Fixxed touchscreen and retrotouch. Now they're both usable for camera movement like in v.1.2.
Thank you fully playable now :)
But is it possible to disable touchscreen ?
PS Vita 1001 - 3.60 HENkaku Ensō - 64gb Memory card
PSP 1004 - 6.60 PRO-B10 CFW - 8gb Memory card

User avatar
humbertosnk
Moderator
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 4:49 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by humbertosnk » Thu Aug 11, 2016 4:07 am

Rinnegatamante wrote:vitaQuake updated to version 1.4!

Download link can be found here: http://rinnegatamante.it
O yesss, thank you!! :D

eleriaqueen
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 3:33 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by eleriaqueen » Thu Aug 11, 2016 2:31 pm

WoW! I'm going to try 1.4 Ver. soon, thanks a lot @Rinnegatamante !
Does your port support 3rd party episodes like DOPA (Dimension of the Past) by Machine Games (it was made for winquake) ? => http://www.pcgamer.com/machinegames-rel ... e-episode/

Edit : I found a bug in 1.4, I tried exitting after having played ep4 and tweaked quite a few settings, it asked me to push Y, I pressed triangle then square then X and it crashed.
If you need a log/dump or whatever it's called, PM me.
I also tried putting "Dimension of the Past" episode in a folder called "dopa" inside "Quake" right next to "id1". As I expected, it doesn't load ^_^ (hardcoded accepted files list/directory structure ?). Could we have support for this awesome creation please ? :3

Comment/Question : At native resolution and in it's current version vitaQuake runs not so well, is there room for improvement with for instance multithreading, or are you going to offload what you can to the gpu later in development so that it runs smoothly ?

Post Reply

Return to “HENkaku”