Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

[RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

HENkaku is a native Homebrew Enabler for the PS Vita and PS TV. It lets you run homebrews on the PS Vita
mrdude
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:48 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by mrdude » Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:37 pm

If the text in the menus could be made larger, that would be a bonus, currently I need a magnifying glass to read it as it's that small.
Advertising

Discopanda
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 2:57 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Discopanda » Thu Feb 22, 2018 4:04 pm

Hello,

I have this mostly working and it brings back fond memories! Couple of issues though I'm hoping to get some help with:

My pak0.pak is in the correct folder and Quake runs fine. But when I add the lights.pak file to the same folder and rename to pak1.pak Quake fails to launch - black screen. Any ideas?

I get a message that I have the shareware version; should it say this?

Multiplayer? The forum link doesn't work - how can I get online with this?

Thanks all
P
Advertising

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 749
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:39 pm

Discopanda wrote:
Thu Feb 22, 2018 4:04 pm
Hello,

I have this mostly working and it brings back fond memories! Couple of issues though I'm hoping to get some help with:

My pak0.pak is in the correct folder and Quake runs fine. But when I add the lights.pak file to the same folder and rename to pak1.pak Quake fails to launch - black screen. Any ideas?

I get a message that I have the shareware version; should it say this?

Multiplayer? The forum link doesn't work - how can I get online with this?

Thanks all
P
Never tested lights with shareware version, maybe you need the full version to use them properly.
As for the Multiplayer, there are some servers set in the Multiplayer section of the game however they're always empty sadly.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

NakedFaerie
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:45 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by NakedFaerie » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:42 am

How do you get it out of the shareware version?
I've put the full PAK0.PAK, PAK1.PAK and PAK2.PAK and it still refuses to load up episode 2, 3 and 4.
I've finished episode 1 and I've never been further in Quake before so not sure why episode 2,3,4 aren't working. (the PC version loads up Episode 2 fine so I doubt its my files)

What I mean is I choose episode 2,3 or 4 and it crashes jumping back to livearea. doesn't matter which difficulty you choose, it refuses to load episode 2.3 and 4.

Quake 1 episode 1 works fine, Quake 1 episode 2,3,4 crash.
Running the latest 2.8 version of VitaQuake.

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 749
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:40 am

Vita is case sensitive.
Pak files must be named pak0.pak, pak1.pak, pak2.pak and so on.

Btw not every CD files seems to work fine.
I personally tested GOG and Seam versions and they both work perfectly.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

NakedFaerie
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:45 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by NakedFaerie » Wed Feb 28, 2018 4:03 pm

Rinnegatamante wrote:
Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:40 am
Vita is case sensitive.
Pak files must be named pak0.pak, pak1.pak, pak2.pak and so on.

Btw not every CD files seems to work fine.
I personally tested GOG and Seam versions and they both work perfectly.
nope, I had all PAK files uppercase and they worked except for episode 2,3,4. Episode one works perfectly.
I renamed everything to lowercase and nothing changed. episode 2,3,4 still crash.
The PAK files work fine on the PC, I can play any episode on PC so the PAK files should be fine.
I can play Episode 1 on VitaQuake without any problems.

Try it yourself and tell me if it works. Start a new game, I choose easy but doesn't matter the difficulty then try to load episode 2,3,4. If it loads then I will have to find out what I'm doing wrong. If they crash then this is a bug report.

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 749
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Wed Feb 28, 2018 5:56 pm

NakedFaerie wrote:
Wed Feb 28, 2018 4:03 pm
Rinnegatamante wrote:
Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:40 am
Vita is case sensitive.
Pak files must be named pak0.pak, pak1.pak, pak2.pak and so on.

Btw not every CD files seems to work fine.
I personally tested GOG and Seam versions and they both work perfectly.
nope, I had all PAK files uppercase and they worked except for episode 2,3,4. Episode one works perfectly.
I renamed everything to lowercase and nothing changed. episode 2,3,4 still crash.
The PAK files work fine on the PC, I can play any episode on PC so the PAK files should be fine.
I can play Episode 1 on VitaQuake without any problems.

Try it yourself and tell me if it works. Start a new game, I choose easy but doesn't matter the difficulty then try to load episode 2,3,4. If it loads then I will have to find out what I'm doing wrong. If they crash then this is a bug report.
As i've already stated, everything works fine with proper pak files.
The fact pak work on PC doesn't tell nothing since there are several pak files on the web that may have or not several features for several different source ports.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

NakedFaerie
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:45 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by NakedFaerie » Thu Mar 01, 2018 2:32 am

see post below. This post can be deleted. Found the problem so no need to explain it anymore.
Last edited by NakedFaerie on Thu Mar 01, 2018 2:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

NakedFaerie
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:45 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by NakedFaerie » Thu Mar 01, 2018 2:58 am

I think I found the problem. This is from the log file.
Mod_LoadBrushModel: maps/e2m1.bsp has wrong version number (30 should be 29)
Mod_LoadBrushModel: maps/e3m1.bsp has wrong version number (30 should be 29)
Mod_LoadBrushModel: maps/e4m1.bsp has wrong version number (30 should be 29)

EDIT: Fixed it. Found a PAK1.PAK file that works. I guess its v29 not v30 like I had.
Its 10mb smaller so I guess its missing parts but at least its working now

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 749
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Sat Mar 03, 2018 10:48 pm

vitaQuake v.2.9 now available for download: http://vitadb.rinnegatamante.it/#/info/10

This time we have several new minor additions, optimized code and some bugfixes too!

Changelog:
- Fixed a bug causing a game crash when trying to invoke the keyboard in Quake console.
- Implemented fullbrights feature (some textures like source of lights are now rendered without being affected by shadows) [Thanks to rsn8887]
- Fixed mp3 support for CDAudio tracks. Now works as intended.
- Fixed native screenshot (SCR_ScreenShot) feature. Now works as intended.
- Fixed a bug randomly causing a game crash when exiting vitaQuake from main menu.
- Added a bar showing all available colors for shirt and pants in the Player Setup menu.
- Optimized code: Now game is faster and requires less RAM.
- Added Gyroscope support for aiming: two new options are available to manage this feature [Thanks to jakebriggs]
- Fixed z-fight bug. Now shadows won't clip anymore with world surfaces.
- Fixed camera orientation when loading a save: now camera will be orientated in the same height it was during the save.
- Added HUD transparency and a proper new option to manage this feature (default 0.5)

Thanks to my Patroners for their awesome support:
- Styde Pregny
- Billy McLaughlin II
- XandridFire
- AnOtHeROnE
- Timo
- Jorge Laurencena
- rsn8887
- PSX-Place.com
- John Wanot
- Count Duckula
- polytoad
- Edd
- Defkyle
- Davenor
- Samuel Batista
- Jaden Emrich
- Elwood Blues
- Justin
- Yakara Network
- Santigo Quiroga
- Pirloui
- Ramerson Wesley Araujo
- temp_anon
- 2Mourty
- gnmmarechal
- Bryan Hanbury
- Gelson Silva
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

Post Reply

Return to “HENkaku”