Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

[RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

HENkaku is a native Homebrew Enabler for the PS Vita and PS TV. It lets you run homebrews on the PS Vita
User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Wed Aug 24, 2016 8:20 pm

luck wrote:Ok, thanks for the clarification.

I never had such bugs, or maybe i can t last that long xD

The answer is because i, and probably a lot of people, like black ops 1 nazi zombies and there s no way to play it on the go (the official app is s**y and it has no controller support...but you have to pay for this Lol)

Nzp sucks and the first versions were unplayable but v1.1 and an unofficial 1.0.5+ for vita(vhbl) work pretty well!

I also like how it looks with quake graphics (retro fan)

This is why i would like to see it on vita with analog support and more ram available (maybe less bugs, no lag and more zombies :twisted: )
On moddb there are sourcecodes only for v.1.0.
Advertising
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

luck
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by luck » Wed Aug 24, 2016 9:03 pm

oh i see
afaik, that source is the lastest (speaking about the psp-engine)
the unofficial versions are using a different resource folder, no big changes, just lighter and less buggy.
this means we should be able to use the unofficial pak.

I m using this on ps vita
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ofhIBJJ5QeA
Advertising

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:11 am

luck wrote:oh i see
afaik, that source is the lastest (speaking about the psp-engine)
the unofficial versions are using a different resource folder, no big changes, just lighter and less buggy.
this means we should be able to use the unofficial pak.

I m using this on ps vita
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ofhIBJJ5QeA
No time to search for sourcecode. IF you find it, i can try to rapidly adapt vitaQuake core to this, shouldn't be too hard.
(And technically NZP devs CAN'T hold their sourcecode since Quake Engine has been released under GPL).
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

luck
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by luck » Thu Aug 25, 2016 9:12 am

as i said, it seams that the unofficial versions can be used with that source because they didn t add any new command/feature.
i mean, we should be able to use vita quake + custom nzp stuff from 1.0 source and precompiled unofficial pak and res (the one you can find in that video).

Elwood89
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:25 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by Elwood89 » Mon Sep 05, 2016 11:41 am

Congratulations Rinnegatamante! This is a fine port, and the controls are suprisingly good, I find it better than the official Duke port.
Are you maybe planning to incorporate front screen touch control, for finer/ sniper shots? There is a retrotouch option in the menus, but I think that it has too high sensitivity, and I really do not like using the back panel so...;)

And if you were wondering what to port next... well... there is that old dos game called Blood. I'd happily donate for a port!

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Mon Sep 05, 2016 12:21 pm

Elwood89 wrote:Congratulations Rinnegatamante! This is a fine port, and the controls are suprisingly good, I find it better than the official Duke port.
Are you maybe planning to incorporate front screen touch control, for finer/ sniper shots? There is a retrotouch option in the menus, but I think that it has too high sensitivity, and I really do not like using the back panel so...;)

And if you were wondering what to port next... well... there is that old dos game called Blood. I'd happily donate for a port!
You can change retrotouch sensitivity in options menu anyway next release will allow players to set touchscreen in key mode (like in v.2.0) or in camera mode.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

O-bake
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake porting for PSVITA

Post by O-bake » Mon Sep 05, 2016 1:08 pm

I just wanted to say thanks for this great port again!
I finally hat the time to play it for a longer period of time and it is really anjoyable. Back in the day I only played the original Quake and now I can play through the two official mission packs (Rogue, Hypnotic).

By the way: After putting the Vita with Quake in sleep mode, loading a save will crash the app.

Btw, are there more finished and fully playable Mods/Maps that I should try? Recommendations anyone?

forcefiftythree
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by forcefiftythree » Mon Sep 05, 2016 11:16 pm

Hi, just today I bought a PS TV (only because of the recent developments :) and decided to try vitaQuake. I started playing the shareware episode and it suddenly crashed when I was playing E1M4. Since I was streaming this to friends (the unboxing + installing hacks + playing homebrews and some...other things) I happen to have a video of this crash in addition to the crash dump. Would these be helpful in debugging and perhaps fixing the crash?

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:02 am

forcefiftythree wrote:Hi, just today I bought a PS TV (only because of the recent developments :) and decided to try vitaQuake. I started playing the shareware episode and it suddenly crashed when I was playing E1M4. Since I was streaming this to friends (the unboxing + installing hacks + playing homebrews and some...other things) I happen to have a video of this crash in addition to the crash dump. Would these be helpful in debugging and perhaps fixing the crash?
Definitely so.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

Sindrik
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 11:55 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Sindrik » Wed Sep 07, 2016 12:43 am

Rinnegatamante wrote:
forcefiftythree wrote:Hi, just today I bought a PS TV (only because of the recent developments :) and decided to try vitaQuake. I started playing the shareware episode and it suddenly crashed when I was playing E1M4. Since I was streaming this to friends (the unboxing + installing hacks + playing homebrews and some...other things) I happen to have a video of this crash in addition to the crash dump. Would these be helpful in debugging and perhaps fixing the crash?
Definitely so.
thanks for your fine work Rinnegatamante. Will we see a Doom release too? i would definitely love your engine port for it

Post Reply

Return to “HENkaku”