Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

[RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

HENkaku is a native Homebrew Enabler for the PS Vita and PS TV. It lets you run homebrews on the PS Vita
User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:31 pm

nicojarre wrote:
Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:11 pm
Rinnegatamante wrote:
Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:51 pm
I think it's a problem only with default expansions (hipnotic and rogue).
I do have tf mod and it works perfectly.
Probably there's a bug in Com_Init call, have to look further into this.
I also needed to delete hipnotic folder that was in my id1! Now it works like a charm. Impressive work!!!
Only improvement left would be the overbright and fullbright and that would make it the most beautiful Quake version ever :D

One bug report and one question :
- When the ps vita running vitaQuake 2.6 goes in sleep mode or if going to Vita menu screen for a second, turning it back on crashes quake with error C2-12828-1.
- Is there a way to change Gamma and Contrast via the console? Command seem to not be recognized...
Gamma is not changeable at all in glQuake. It's a common bug. However you can increase/reduce PSVITA brightness on the game by holding PS button for a while.
Advertising
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

nicojarre
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:15 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by nicojarre » Fri Jan 26, 2018 5:25 pm

Rinnegatamante wrote:
Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:31 pm
nicojarre wrote:
Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:11 pm
Rinnegatamante wrote:
Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:51 pm
I think it's a problem only with default expansions (hipnotic and rogue).
I do have tf mod and it works perfectly.
Probably there's a bug in Com_Init call, have to look further into this.
I also needed to delete hipnotic folder that was in my id1! Now it works like a charm. Impressive work!!!
Only improvement left would be the overbright and fullbright and that would make it the most beautiful Quake version ever :D

One bug report and one question :
- When the ps vita running vitaQuake 2.6 goes in sleep mode or if going to Vita menu screen for a second, turning it back on crashes quake with error C2-12828-1.
- Is there a way to change Gamma and Contrast via the console? Command seem to not be recognized...
Gamma is not changeable at all in glQuake. It's a common bug. However you can increase/reduce PSVITA brightness on the game by holding PS button for a while.
I suppose that contrast is also not changeable?
Advertising

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:50 am

nicojarre wrote:
Fri Jan 26, 2018 5:25 pm
Rinnegatamante wrote:
Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:31 pm
nicojarre wrote:
Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:11 pm


I also needed to delete hipnotic folder that was in my id1! Now it works like a charm. Impressive work!!!
Only improvement left would be the overbright and fullbright and that would make it the most beautiful Quake version ever :D

One bug report and one question :
- When the ps vita running vitaQuake 2.6 goes in sleep mode or if going to Vita menu screen for a second, turning it back on crashes quake with error C2-12828-1.
- Is there a way to change Gamma and Contrast via the console? Command seem to not be recognized...
Gamma is not changeable at all in glQuake. It's a common bug. However you can increase/reduce PSVITA brightness on the game by holding PS button for a while.
I suppose that contrast is also not changeable?
I've managed to bugfix gamma so Brightness setting will come back in next release.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

nicojarre
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:15 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by nicojarre » Sat Jan 27, 2018 1:10 pm

Rinnegatamante wrote:
Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:50 am
nicojarre wrote:
Fri Jan 26, 2018 5:25 pm
Rinnegatamante wrote:
Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:31 pm


Gamma is not changeable at all in glQuake. It's a common bug. However you can increase/reduce PSVITA brightness on the game by holding PS button for a while.
I suppose that contrast is also not changeable?
I've managed to bugfix gamma so Brightness setting will come back in next release.
That's a great news!! On the way to bring back the old dark Quake atmosphere :)

Dunno if anybody tried, but even under-clocking Ps Vita to lowest settings, VitaQuake 2.6 still runs at >40fps. Amazing.

Artem6
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:24 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Artem6 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:44 am

Hello. Excellent work. Big thanks and bow!! But one thing haunts:
- When the ps vita running vitaQuake 2.6 goes in sleep mode or if going to Vita menu screen for a second, turning it back on crashes quake with error C2-12828-1.
I confirm that I have the same problem...
is there a solution?
Thanks!

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Tue Jan 30, 2018 4:37 pm

Artem6 wrote:
Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:44 am
Hello. Excellent work. Big thanks and bow!! But one thing haunts:
- When the ps vita running vitaQuake 2.6 goes in sleep mode or if going to Vita menu screen for a second, turning it back on crashes quake with error C2-12828-1.
I confirm that I have the same problem...
is there a solution?
Thanks!
That's a common bug in henkaku, it's not related to vitaQuake directly.

However vitaQuake v.2.7 released!

Download: http://vitadb.rinnegatamante.it/#/info/10

Changelog:

- Fixed a bug causing homebrew to crash on startup if official missionpacks where shipped in data files.
- Fixed a bug causing mods and missionpacks to use original Quake soundtrack. Now they use their own soundtrack files.
- Added launchers for official missionpacks on vitaQuake Livearea bubble.
- Fixed particles rendering. Now it works as intended.
- Fix for chase camera rendering. Now it draws the player correctly.
- Fix for mirrors rendering. Now they correctly reflect scene.
- Added Quake 3 boobing effect to pickups.
- Fixxed v_gamma command, now it correctly changes game brightness.
- Increased max texture size from 1024x1024 to 4096x4096 (sceGxm hardware limit).
- Added specular mode for Quake veteran challengers (gl_xflip).
- Re-worked Options menu to have all new vitaQuake features.

Credits:

- MasterFeizz for ctrQuake source which i studied to understand how winQuake works.
- Ch0wW for several improvements and code cleanup.
- frangarcj, xerpi and Davee for helping during the journey that lead to the creation of vitaGL.
- All my Patreon supporters:
- Arkanite
- Styde Pregny
- Billy McLaughlin II
- XandridFire
- AnOtHeROnE
- PSX-Place.com
- John Wanot
- Count Duckula
- polytoad
- Edd
- Defkyle
- Davenor
- Samuel Batista
- Jaden Emrich
- Elwood Blues
- Justin
- Santiago Quiroga
- Timo
- Pirloui
- Setiyagung
- Ramerson Wesley Araújo
- temp_anon
- 2Mourty
- Gelson Silva
- gnmmarechal
- Bryan Hanbury
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

maciak
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 11:58 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by maciak » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:24 pm

Hi,
Is there any way you could make text in menu larger? It's pretty hard to see it :(

Artem6
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:24 am

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Artem6 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:49 am

Rinnegatamante wrote:
Tue Jan 30, 2018 4:37 pm
Artem6 wrote:
Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:44 am
Hello. Excellent work. Big thanks and bow!! But one thing haunts:
- When the ps vita running vitaQuake 2.6 goes in sleep mode or if going to Vita menu screen for a second, turning it back on crashes quake with error C2-12828-1.
I confirm that I have the same problem...
is there a solution?
Thanks!
That's a common bug in henkaku, it's not related to vitaQuake directly.

Thank you, I really hope that in the future it will be better))
And thanks for the new version of the game!!
sorry for my bad English)

futurealbert
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:16 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by futurealbert » Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:22 pm

Hi, I really appreciate you making this . Its a great game to have on the vita. Runs great too.

I've been trying to get some mods running with it, namely the half-life conversions. There is two that I know of, and I cant get either to work.

The first is Quakelife https://github.com/autonomous1/quakelife. I import the maps from hl1 from steam. And when I go to launch new game after loading mod it crashes.

The second is the old psp half-life quake conversion. It has sound files and scripts and stuff. So you get the story. But once I load that mod that also crashes when I start new game.

If anyone has had any better luck than this, please let me know. Thanks!

mrdude
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:48 pm

Re: [RELEASE] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by mrdude » Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:24 pm

Is there a guide from building this from the git.

I keep getting errors when running the makefile. Do you need any specific packages/paths set to build this.

I just built pkgi to make sure my system was building ok and that compiled the vpk & other files with no problems.

EDIT: OK figured it out after realising I needed to build vitaGL then run the "make install" command.

Post Reply

Return to “HENkaku”