Advertising (This ad goes away for registered users. You can Login or Register)

[UPDATED v.1.2] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Submit here your entries for the Revitalize Competition. Deadline is September 30th.
Rules can be found here: http://wololo.net/revitalize/
User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

[UPDATED v.1.2] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Fri Oct 23, 2015 2:07 pm

vitaQuake v.1.2

Image
Introduction:
Today i want to release my Quake port for Rejuvenate!
It's based on winQuake ( https://github.com/id-Software/Quake/tr ... r/WinQuake ) and it supports both Shareware and Full version of Quake.
The packet you can download here contains the free shareware version. If you want to use your full installation of Quake you just have to add pak1.pak file to id1 folder.

Features:
- Native 960x544 resolution!
- Sound support
- Support for shareware and full versions of Quake
- Native support to both PSVITA analogs
- Variable camera sensibility for right analog in option menu
- Touch and retrotouch support
- Danzeff keyboard for Quake console usage
- Different hidden settings unlocked in Options Menu (FOV, Depth of Field, Crosshair...)

TODO List:
- Add network multiplayer support
- Improve sound quality
- Switch to hardware GPU rendering
- Add gyroscope support

Controls:
- Left Analog / Digital Pad = Move player
- Right Analog = Move camera
- O / X = Jump
- R Trigger / Square = Shoot
- Triangle = Change Weapon
- L Trigger = Run

Credits:
- idSoftware for winQuake engine.
- MasterFeizz for ctrQuake source which i studied to understand how winQuake works.
- xerpi for vita2dlib.

Installation:
- Place the id1 folder in the root of your PSVITA through FTP Vita
- Launch vitaQuake
- Enjoy

Screenshot:
[spoiler]Image[/spoiler]
Links:
Download: http://rinnegatamante.it/vitaQuake12.rar
GitHub Repository: https://github.com/Rinnegatamante/vitaQuake
Advertising
Last edited by Rinnegatamante on Tue Nov 03, 2015 7:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

atreyu187
Moderator
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:08 am

Re: vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by atreyu187 » Fri Oct 23, 2015 6:23 pm

Isn't Quake open source now? So it would be possible to legally distribute the full game with this now? I know Doom was as ID software is just awesome like that. Brutal Doom is just amazing. Anyhow can't wait to get home to give this a try.
Advertising

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Fri Oct 23, 2015 7:13 pm

atreyu187 wrote:Isn't Quake open source now? So it would be possible to legally distribute the full game with this now? I know Doom was as ID software is just awesome like that. Brutal Doom is just amazing. Anyhow can't wait to get home to give this a try.
Quake Engine is open source but not Quake. Quake is still a commercial title ( http://store.steampowered.com/app/2310/ ).

If you bought it, to use full version you just have to put in id1 folder the file pak1.pak.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

30Wditch
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:57 pm

Re: vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by 30Wditch » Fri Oct 23, 2015 7:33 pm

Works Great! A bit choppy on 333mhz but it looks promising.
Looking forward to this.

Wizigard
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:03 pm

Re: vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Wizigard » Fri Oct 23, 2015 7:59 pm

I'm glad people are still working on rejuvenate as I believe this is the way forward.
As for game, It seems to work well, FPS are not an issue since i'm used to much worse :P. Maybe at first clicking on stuff in menu was a bit of pain but I'm very very positively surprised. So far I only finished 1st level but game seemed quite responsive and stable, character UI with info seemed a bit too small but I guess not much can be done about that.
I'm curious about porting mechanics though. I'd like to see games like Dink Smallwood or Warlords II being ported to vita. I'd even try to do so myself but my skills are lacking :c. I only know some basics of pascal, maybe not even basics :D. Is porting a game, to which code you have access a difficult task ?

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:39 pm

Wizigard wrote:I'm glad people are still working on rejuvenate as I believe this is the way forward.
As for game, It seems to work well, FPS are not an issue since i'm used to much worse :P. Maybe at first clicking on stuff in menu was a bit of pain but I'm very very positively surprised. So far I only finished 1st level but game seemed quite responsive and stable, character UI with info seemed a bit too small but I guess not much can be done about that.
I'm curious about porting mechanics though. I'd like to see games like Dink Smallwood or Warlords II being ported to vita. I'd even try to do so myself but my skills are lacking :c. I only know some basics of pascal, maybe not even basics :D. Is porting a game, to which code you have access a difficult task ?
Difficulty on porting a game/engine depends on different things:

- Game dependencies: if a game massively uses a library not currently ported to the console you want to port to it will be much more harder. (Example: All the games using OpenGL for rendering)
- Source struct: If a sourcecode is not well structured (For example platform-dependant sources are in the same file of engine source files) it will be more time consumpting to adapt the source.
- Assembly calls: if a game uses some kind of assembly call and is not intendend to work on an architecture the console you want to port to has, you should adapt all these calls or emulate the CPU (Last one is how emulators work).

For Quake, adapting it it's not very difficult, if you check the repository you can see how simple it could be to port to another console.

Anyway, 90% of commercial games are wrote in C/C++ so you need a very good knowledge of these languages to make a game port.
30Wditch wrote:Works Great! A bit choppy on 333mhz but it looks promising.
Looking forward to this.
Technically it runs on 444 mhz mode. If you want to increase fps, you can reduce a bit screen size in options menu. I'm currently working on GPU rendering to make it works fullspeed with resolution maxxed.
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

User avatar
Virus
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:46 pm
Location: In The Matrix
Contact:

Re: vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Virus » Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:45 pm

Great job! :) That's one of the best entries for the contest!

User avatar
humbertosnk
Moderator
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 4:49 am

Re: vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by humbertosnk » Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:00 pm

AWESOME! :D

User avatar
szczuru
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:18 pm

Re: vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by szczuru » Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:02 pm

Now we only need a way to bring back Rejuvenate for newer FWs :D

User avatar
Rinnegatamante
VIP
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: [UPDATED v.1.1] vitaQuake - Quake port for PSVITA

Post by Rinnegatamante » Sat Oct 24, 2015 9:37 pm

New version available which brings some bugfix/hotfix, improve sound quality and finally have gpu rendering!

Changelog:
- Renamed some Options voice to match their real work on PSVITA.
- Switched from CPU Rendering to Software GPU Rendering: it means huge boost to framerate.
- Improved a bit sound quality.
- Made Quake menus (Like Main Menu) explorable through "normal" buttons (X / O to select a voice and Start to open/close it).
- Bugfix: now you won't get stucked on an advice screen if you try to start a new game while playing.
- Bugfix: now vitaQuake is quittable through Quit voice on Main Menu without any problem.
- Bugfix: Now changing Brightness really change luminosity of the game.
- Bugfix: Now Invert Camera works correctly.
- Bugfix: Now if you use "Reset to defaults" voice from Options Menu, sensibility and controls will be resetted to default PSVITA ones.
Download: http://rinnegatamante.it/vitaQuake_11.rar
If you want, visit my website: http://rinnegatamante.it :D

Post Reply

Return to “Revitalize Competition”